Laboratory of Nonequilibrium Processes in  Semiconductors

research groups
contact us


Professor Solomon Ryvkin has founded the Laboratory of Nonequilibrium Processes in Semiconductors in 1958 with the aim to study the nonequilibrium processes in semiconductors under the influence of light pulses or ionizing radiation. Nonequilibrium phenomena consist of three main processes.
(i) radiation initiated generation of nonequilibrium charge carriers as a result of intrinsic photoeffect
(ii) carriers motion in an external field
(iii) recombination processes
The results of these studies became the background of contemporary physics of semiconductors and semiconductor micro-, nano- and optoelectronics.
The discovery in the laboratory of the phenomena of stimulated radiation generation on p-n-junction in GaAs (1962) was followed by creation of injection semiconductor lasers by R. Hall.
It is this laboratory who gave birth to principally new areas of semiconductor physics: semiconductor photography in infrared spectral region, generation of tunable coherent radiation in submillimeter- and infrared-ranges due to inter-Landau-level transitions.

In 1981-1988 years the laboratory was headed by Full Member of Russian Academy of Sciences Vladimir Tuchkevich.
At present the laboratory consists of 46 staff members. The research is focused on the following subjects:

  • development of semiconductor photoelectric image converters for high-speed infrared photography (Doctor Yu. Astrov);
  • theory of semiconductor optical properties and theory of physical phenomena in semiconductor technology(Professor I. Ipatova);
  • optical, photoelectric and emission properties of semiconductors in far infrared and submillimeter regions (Professor Yu. Ivanov);
  • technology of CdTe crystals, development of nuclear radiation detectors and those for X-ray tomography (Professor O. Matveev);
  • the physical processes in devices based on silicon MIS struc-tures with tunnel transparent dielectric (Doctor E. Ostroumova);
  • study of structure and electronic properties of extended defects in semiconductors (Professor Yu. Shreter, Senior Researcher D. Tarkhin);
  • research and development of semiconductor tracking detectors for high luminosity accelerating facilities (Senior Researcher V. Eremin);
  • radiation induced defects in pure silicon, silicon detectors for precise ion spectroscopy (Professor N. Strokan);
  • solid state investigation under submillimeter irradiation, ESR in solid state (Professor A.Veinger);
  • quantum (hopping) transport and the metal-insulator transition in disordered systems and neutron transmutation doping of semiconductors (Professor A. Zabrodskii).

The laboratory has permanent scientific contacts with a number of Research Centers and Universities in Austria, China, France, Germany, Great Britain, Greece, Italy and USA.

Head of the laboratory
Professor Andrei Zabrodskii

contact us
laboratory homepage
Ioffe Institute
research groups