Ioffe Institute International Conference
Physics of Neutron Stars – 2014
commemorating the 100th birthday of Yakov Borisovich Zel'dovich

July 28 — August 1, 2014, St. Petersburg, Russia

First announcement

It is a great pleasure to announce the International Conference "Physics of Neutron Stars – 2014". This will be the 10th scientific meeting on neutron star physics organized by the Theoretical Astrophysics Department of the Ioffe Physical Technical Institute. The first gathering of the series took place in 1988. In 2014 the conference will commemorate the 100th birthday of Yakov Borisovich Zel'dovich, the famous Soviet physicist and astrophysicist.

The conference will be held in Saint-Petersburg, Russia, from July 28th till August 1st, 2014. The working language will be English. The scientific program will include a number of invited talks, contributed talks, and poster presentations subject to selection by the international Scientific Organizing Committee. The maximum number of participants may be limited due to technical reasons.

The SOC of the conference is:

V.S. Beskin (Lebedev Physical Institute, Moscow, Russia)
A. Harding (NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center, USA)
C. Heinke (University of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada)
W. Hermsen (SRON, the Netherlands)
M.R. Gilfanov (MPI, Germany; IKI, Moscow, Russia)
V. Kaspi (McGill University, Montreal, Canada)
C. Kouveliotou (NASA/MSFC, Huntsville, USA)
M. Kramer (MPI for Radioastronomy, Germany)
D.K. Nadyozhin (Institute for Theor. Exper. Phys., Moscow, Russia)
G.G. Pavlov (Pennsylvania State University, USA), co-chair
S.B. Popov (Sternberg Astronomical Institute, Moscow, Russia)
J. Poutanen (Oulu University, Finland)
M. van der Klis (University of Amsterdam, the Netherlands)
S. Mereghetti (INAF IASF, Milan, Italy)
D.G. Yakovlev (Ioffe Physical Technical Inst., St Petersburg, Russia), co-chair
S. Zane (Mullard Space Science Laboratory, London, UK)

The LOC of the conference is:

R.L. Aptekar (Ioffe Institute)
D.A. Baiko (Ioffe Institute), co-chair
S.A. Balashev (Ioffe Institute)
D.P. Barsukov (Ioffe Institute)
A.I. Chugunov (Ioffe Institute)
A.A. Danilenko (Ioffe Institute)
M.E. Gusakov (Ioffe Institute)
A.D. Kaminker (Ioffe Institute)
E.M. Kantor (Ioffe Institute)
A.A. Kozhberov (Ioffe Institute)
K.P. Levenfish (Ioffe Institute)
S.B. Popov (Sternberg Astronomical Institute)
K.A. Postnov (Sternberg Astronomical Institute)
A.Y. Potekhin (Ioffe Institute)
Yu.A. Shibanov (Ioffe Institute)
P.S. Shternin (Ioffe Institute)
Yu.A. Uvarov (Ioffe Institute)
D.A. Varshalovich (Ioffe Institute), co-chair
D.A. Zyuzin (Ioffe Institute)

The conference will cover all major topics of observations and theory of neutron stars, including rotation powered pulsars, pulsar emission mechanisms, pulsar wind nebulae, magnetars, isolated cooling neutron stars, central compact objects, accreting X-ray pulsars (particularly, millisecond pulsars), neutron stars in low-mass X-ray binaries, X-ray bursts, equation of state, structure and evolution of neutron stars, mechanisms of supernova explosions and neutron star mergers.

Invited speakers:

E. Brown (MSU, East Lansing, USA)
A. Cumming (McGill University, Montreal, Canada)
C. Espinoza (Instituto de Astronomia, Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile)
D. Galloway (Monash University, Australia) (TBC)
M. Gusakov (Ioffe Institute)
P. Haensel (CAMK, Warsaw, Poland)
A. Harding (NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center, USA) (TBC)
D. Kaplan (University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, USA)
O. Kargaltsev (University of Florida, USA)
M. Kramer (MPI for Radioastronomy, Germany)
L. Kuiper (SRON, the Netherlands)
B. Leibundgut (ESO, Germany)
S. Mereghetti (INAF IASF, Milan, Italy)
A. Mezzacappa (University of Tennessee, USA)
D. Nice (Lafayette College, USA)
D. Page (UNAM, Mexico)
A. Patruno (Leiden University, the Netherlands),
J. Pons (University of Alicante, Spain)
N. Rea (Institute of Space Science, Barcelona, Spain)
R. Romani (Stanford University, USA) (TBC)
R. Wijnands (Astronomical Institute, Amsterdam, the Netherlands)

Along with the scientific program a number of cultural and social events will be offered. We shall make every effort to ensure that during this midsummer week the participants of the "Physics of Neutron Stars – 2014" will enjoy a memorable combination of the first-class science, wonderful weather and the unparalleled beauty of Saint-Petersburg and its surroundings.

The registration will open on November 1st, 2013

Telephone number: +7 812 292 7180

Welcome to Saint-Petersburg!

Page created on October 8, 2013,
last updated on October 11, 2013.