International Symposium

Spin Waves 2009

http://www.ioffe.ru/optics/SW2009 St. Petersburg, Russia, June 7-12, 2009

First Announcement

International Symposium on Spin Waves will be held in Saint Petersburg June 7-12, 2009. It is organized by the Russian Academy of Sciences, Institute of Physical Problems, Ioffe Physical-Technical Institute and Institute of Radioengineering and Electronics. We send our warmest wishes for the coming New Year and kindly invite you and your colleagues to take part in the Symposium. Please forward this information to any and all interested parties. Second announcement and registration form will follow in 4 weeks.

Overview

Since the sixties the Symposium on Spin Waves was held biannually in St. Petersburg and aimed to provide opportunity for discussion of the last advances in fundamental research of dynamical behaviour in ferromagnetic, ferrimagnetic, and antiferromagnetic materials. Next year the Symposium will highlight the modern problems of spin dynamics with a special emphasis being paid to novel trends in magnetism. The Symposium will include discussions on the recently emerged research topics such as ultrafast nonlinear phenomena of spin dynamics, spin waves in nanostructures, current-induced spin dynamics, X-ray and neutron probe of magnetism, spin dynamics and electromagnons in layered and multiferroic structures and others. Recent advances in spintronics, magnetic and magneto-optical recording technology, as well as the prospects of exploiting the spin dynamical phenomena in future devices for ultrafast recording and processing of information will be discussed.

Organising committee

L. A. Prozorova, Chairwoman (Institute of Physical Problems, Moscow) S. A. Nikitov (Institute of Radioengineering and Electronics, Moscow) R. V. Pisarev (Ioffe Physico-Technical Institute, St. Petersburg)

Program committee

A. I. Smirnov, Chairman (Moscow)
Yu. A. Filimonov (Saratov)
A. A. Mukhin (Moscow)
V. V. Pavlov (St. Petersburg)
V. A. Sanina (St. Petersburg)

Local committee (St. Petersburg)

R. V. Pisarev, Chairman V. V. Pavlov V. A. Sanina

P. A. Usachev