## **International Symposium**

# **Spin Waves 2013**

## St. Petersburg, Russia, June 9-15, 2013

#### First Announcement

Ioffe Physical-Technical Institute of the Russian Academy of Sciences continues a series of biennial International Symposia on Spin Waves organized since 1960<sup>th</sup>. These meetings are intended to provide opportunities for discussing advances in topical fundamental and applied research on magnetism. In 2013 the Symposium Program will be focused at but not limited to the following modern topics in magnetism:

- 1. Ultrafast magnetization dynamics.
- 2. Excitations in quantum and frustrated magnets.
- 3. Spin waves on surfaces and in multilayers.
- 4. Spintronics and magnetism at nanoscale.
- 5. Magnonics, magneto-photonics.
- 6. Nonlinear spin-wave phenomena and relaxation processes.
- 7. Novel probes of magnetism: THz, X-ray, neutron, etc.
- 8. Spin-torque effects: oscillators, switching, DW motion.
- 9. Advances in spin-based devices and technology.

The Organizers kindly invite scientists and students from all countries to participate in the Symposium. Second announcement and the registration form will follow in January 2013.

### **Organizing committee**

L. A. Prozorova, Chair

Institute of Physical Problems, Russia

M. Bayer

TU Dortmund University, Germany

S. A. Nikitov

Institute of Radioengineering, Russia

R. V. Pisarev

Ioffe Institute, Russia

Th. Rasing

Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands

A. Slavin

Oakland University, USA

#### Local committee

R. V. Pisarev, Chair

A. M. Kalashnikova

L. V. Lutsev

V. V. Pavlov

P. A. Usachev

#### **Contacts**

E-mail: optics-lab@mail.ioffe.ru

Tel:+7 812 292 79 63

### **Program committee**

A. I. Smirnov, Chair

(Institute of Physical Problems, Russia)

**S. O. Demokritov** (Münster University, Germany)

Yu. A. Filimonov (IRE, Saratov branch, Russia)

A. A. Fraerman (Institute for Physics in

Microstructures, Russia)

**B. A. Kalinikos** (St. Petersburg Electro-Technical

University, Russia)

**A. V. Kimel** (Radboud University, The Netherlands)

**A. Kirilyuk** (Radboud University, The Netherlands)

A. A. Mukhin (Institute of General Physics, Russia)

V. V. Pavlov (Ioffe Institute, Russia)

O. A. Petrenko (University of Warwick, UK)

V. A. Sanina (Ioffe Institute, Russia)

A. Slavin (Oakland University, USA)

A. K. Zvezdin (Institute of General Physics, Russia)

#### **Symposium Coordinator**

A. M. Kalashnikova (Ioffe Institute, Russia)

#### Website

http://www.ioffe.ru/optics/SW2013

