Centre of Nanoheterostructure Physics

Research areas:

  • physics and technology (MBE, MOCVD) of silicon and semiconductor heterostructures based on A3B5, A2B6 and A3–N compounds, especially low dimensional nanostructures (quantum wells, quantum wires, and quantum dots)
  • material science and diagnostics (transmission and scanning electron microscopy, X-ray microanalysis, X-ray diffraction and topography, secondary ion mass-spectrometry, deep level transient spectroscopy)
  • optoelectronics, nanoelectronics, spintronics based on low dimensional heterostructures
  • photovoltaic convertors and solar cells
  • theory of electrical, optical and quantum phenomena in semiconductors
  • superfast processes and nonlinear optical phenomena
  • semiconductor laser diodes (CW, DBF and picosecond heterostructure lasers, lasers with electron beam pumping), photodetectors and photoelements in mid IR, IR, visible and UV ranges
  • pulse power devices based on semiconductor A3B5 compounds

Staff: 287 researchers, including 42 Doctors and 130 Candidates of Sciences

Center Officers:

Director: Nikita A. Pikhtin
Deputy Director: Nicolay A. Bert
Executive Secretary: Sergey I. Pavlov