Ioffe Institute
Centre of Nanoheterostructure Physics
Phisics of Semiconductor Heterostructure Laboratory main page
MOVPE Group main pageOPTICAL Group main pageMBE Group main page


was established in 2000 at Ioffe Physico-Technical Institute.

Laboratory structure:

MBE group - III-As and Si growth
IIIN group - III-N materials growth and research
Optical group - characterization

Laboratory Officers

Head: Zhores I. Alferov
Deputy Head: Victor M. Ustinov
Deputy Head: Nikolai N. Ledentsov
Executive Secretary: Wsevolod V. Lundin
Economic Secretary: Julia G. Bekman

Research areas:

  • physics and technology (MBE, MOCVD) of silicon and III-V semiconductor heterostructures (quantum wells, quantum dots)
  • electron materials science and characterization
  • optoelectronics, nanoelectronics (low-dimensional heterostructures)
  • semiconductor laser diodes, photodetectors, power and high speed semiconductor devices
  • postgrowth processing of semiconductors devices

Staff: 28 researches, including 6 Doctors and 12 Candidates of Sciences

Contact information

Laboratory list of publications

Laboratory awards

Laboratory photo gallery

Russian version

The page designed by Dennis Bedarev